PNP Seal and Badge

PNP Seal Meaning and Symbolism

Lapu-Lapu Hero - The great Filipino hero of Mactan, the prototype of the best and most noble in Filipino manhood who is the symbol and embodiment of all the genuine attributes of leadership, courage, nationalism, self-reliance and a people-based and people powered community defense. The benevolent and heroic warrior who derived added strength from a cohesive, determined and loyal people is today a fitting symbol and a prototype as well of people power to preserve our values, customs, traditions, way of life and the rule of law thru a solidly community-based police system. Lapu-Lapu also personifies for us today civilian constitutional authority.  

Laurel - Green Laurel with 14 leaves, symbolizes the 14 Regional Commands. It is also a symbol of the honor, dignity and the privilege of being a member of a noble organization where the call to public service is par excellence a commitment to public trust.

Shield - The symbol of the Philippine Constabulary, the first National Police by virtue of Organic Act No. 175, enacted by the Philippine Commission on 18 July 1901. The Philippine Constabulary for the close to 90 years of service to the nation has performed with honor, professionalism and courage. The PC has carved out a large part of the glorious pages of Philippine history, as attested by its proudly and deservedly garnering 86 of the 92 "Medals of Valor" the highest honor that a grateful Filipino nation can bestow on its gallant sons in the service of the Republic. Most appropriately therefore, the Philippine Constabulary became the nucleus of the Integrated National Police in 1975 to nurture the then embryonic concept of the nationalization of the country's local police forces.

Three Stars - Luzon, Visayas and Mindanao and the 1,700 islands and the territorial integrity wherein the National Police must enforce the law and maintain peace and order with professionalism, zeal and dedication in keeping with the highest ideals and traditions of service to our country and people.

Service • Honor • Justice - Added distinct ideals for the officers, men and women of the PNP to insure efficiency, integrity, cohesiveness, camaraderie and equanimity to enhance community acceptance and support to attain its mission of peace keeping and law enforcement.

Sun - Symbolize the flowering, maturing and ultimate realization of the glorious evolution of the PC/INP into a National Police Organization - "national in scope and civilian in character" - as enshrined in the 1986 Constitution. The Traditional light rays which represents the fightingest provinces whose ideals of courage and patriotism the members of the National Police must possess.

PNP Badge Meaning and Symbolism

Philippine Monkey Eating Eagle The National Bird – symbol of swiftness and ferocity, power, courage and immortality.

PNP Shield - Symbol of protection of all citizens.

Three Stars - Stands for Luzon, Visayas and Mindanao which constitute the Republic's Territorial Integrity over which the PNP must enforce the law and maintain peace and order with professionalism, zeal and dedication in keeping with the highest ideals and traditions of service to God, Country and People.

Eight Sun Rays - Represents the eight (8) provinces whose ideals of courage, gallantry patriotism led to their revolt against Spain.

Lapu – Lapu - Symbolizes the bravery of the Philippine National Police.

Service, Honor, Justice - Service is the vibrant and cogent deeds and actions in response to the needs and wants of the people in distress: Honor could be the overriding criterion and consideration in the performance of their entrusted task or mission: and Justice dispensed to everyone whatever is due to him without favoritism or discrimination of any sort.

Laurel Leaves - Symbolizes the competency, brilliance and honor in the field of endeavor expected from each and every member of the PNP.

Philippine National Police - Identity of Solidarity.

PRO7 Seal Symbolism

QUADRANTS (Shield) - Represent the four provinces of Region 7. Quadrant 1 (Upper left most) corresponds to Bohol; quadrant 2 (upper right most) is for the province of Cebu; the province of Siquijor is represented in quadrant 3 (lower left) and Negros Oriental is for quadrant 4 (lower right)

1st quadrants - Shows the Chocolate Hills, a world-famous tourist attraction of the island province of Bohol

2nd quadrants - Includes the Basilica Minor del Santo Niño, a strong representation of Christianity in Cebu; the Mactan Bridge which represents the thrust between the cities of Mandaue and Lapu-Lapul and Magellans Cross, Cebu City’s most famous landmark, supposedly planted by Ferdinand Magellan when he arrived in the Philippines in 1521. Also depicted is foliage and water that symbolize the desire for ecological preservation

3rd quadrants - Includes the drawing of Mount Canlaon and the surrounding fertile land.

4th quadrants - Includes a sailboat that refers to the main occupation of the people of Siquijor; coconut tree for copra industry; and the sunrise which represents the hope for progress.

Figure - The center figure is the silhouette of Lapu-lapu, hero of Mactan. He represents Filipino nationalism, courage and nobility

ISLANDS (at the back of the Lapu-Lapu) - Represent the four provinces of the region: Bohol, Cebu, Negros Oriental and Siquijor.

TWO (2) stars - Represent Luzon and Mindanao